Polaris Ranger Review - 2010 Polaris Ranger 400 UTV Review


Polaris Reviews » Polaris Ranger Reviews » 400 Review

2010 Polaris Ranger 400

Polaris Ranger review
UTV Review Rating
Performance
3.5 / 5.0
Handling
3.5 / 5.0
Comfort
3.0 / 5.0
Safety
4.0 / 5.0
Reliability
4.0 / 5.0
Consumer Reviews
Overall Rating
3.3 / 5.0
15 User Reviews & Comments
View user comments and ratings below »

New for 2010, Polaris is introducing the value-priced, Midsize RANGER 400 This unit sports a smaller, two-seat chassis, that fits in the back of a pickup truck, with many of the hardest working, smoothest riding features of their full-sized UTV counterparts: On-Demand True All-Wheel Drive with VersaTrac, Independent Rear Suspension, heavy duty front end protection, high ground clearance and the longest suspension travel in their class.

The RANGER 400, although smaller in stature, delivers on the RANGER promise of "hardest working" with real work capabilities such as 500 lbs of cargo capacity, 1,000 lbs payload and 1,250 lbs. of towing, at an attractive $7,999 MSRP. The RANGER 400’s smaller size, 455cc high output, carbureted engine and value price make it an attractive work partner for hunting, farming, maintaining acreage or doing chores around the property. It boasts 29 horsepower and a top speed of 40 mph offering the rider plenty of get-up-and-go to ride to that favorite hunting spot, haul feed to livestock or just take a leisurely ride down the trail. Its On-Demand True All-Wheel Drive ensures it can tackle muddy pastures or rutted, rocky hunting trails, while the VersaTrac ensures you don’t tear up the grass. With a full-line of PURE Polaris products including Lock & Ride accessories, cabs, plows and a speed-regulating, Speed Key, the RANGER 400 can be outfitted to get any job done.

To complement its hard work ethic, the RANGER 400 has smooth riding features such as Independent Rear Suspension, long suspension travel and high ground clearance to ensure a smooth ride and less fatigue on the operator and passenger, making it a true “Hardest Working, Smoothest Riding” Midsize RANGER.

Array

Review By: UTV Off-Road Magazine

15 Consumer Reviews of "2010 Polaris Ranger 400"
Submit your own review or comment
* Display Name (15 character max)
* Email Address (a valid email address is required to post)
  Location (city, state)
  Star Rating out of 5 total stars.
* Comment
Please review your comment text before submitting.
* - indicate a required field.
 
Review by Troy Webb in Collins Ohio, on Sep 20, 2011
Rating
0.5 / 5.0

Paid 8000.00 got 21 hrs on it, left me stranded 2 hrs from pavement, adult ridden. Called Polaris and they could care less. BUY YAMAHA would not recommend Polaris to anyone, service sucks.. Starter went out and engine would not turn over. Polaris does not stand behind what they sell, Yamaha does..

Report This Comment
Review by MZ in Scottsbluff NE, on Jul 30, 2011
Rating
1.0 / 5.0

I purchased the 500 fuel injected, the same machine as the 400, I eats the drive belt like clockwork every 700 miles, and this machine is not in rough service, I would say that the quality on this machine is poor at the best. I am not pleased and by the time most of you read this I will be a honda owner, Polaris products are less than desirable in my book.

Report This Comment
Review by hunt guide in Pike, Ilinois, on Dec 02, 2010
Rating
0.5 / 5.0

I bought a 400, brand new, 10 months ago. The four wheel drive went out which caused the drive shaft to break,the front differential is mangled, U joints are shot!! Ten months after I bought it!! The bad part is Polaris won't even give me the time of day, or talk to me since my warranty is expired. Customer service with Polaris is great until your warranty is expired, but unfortunately once your warranty expires, their customer service expires as well. By far the poorest built machine i've ever owned and the worst customer service i've ever experienced!!

Report This Comment
Review by hunt guide in Pike, Ilinois, on Dec 02, 2010
Rating
0.5 / 5.0

I bought a 400, brand new, 10 months ago. The four wheel drive went out which caused the drive shaft to break,the front differential is mangled, U joints are shot!! Ten months after I bought it!! The bad part is Polaris won't even give me the time of day, or talk to me since my warranty is expired. Customer service with Polaris is great until your warranty is expired, but unfortunately once your warranty expires, their customer service expires as well. By far the poorest built machine i've ever owned and the worst customer service i've ever experienced!!

Report This Comment
Review by James Croy in Greeneville, TN, on Nov 12, 2010
Rating
5.0 / 5.0

Absolutely love this UTV! I had a bad boy buggy that cost me 10k and this machine blows it out of the water! Have taken it up some steep hills and still have not had to use the 4wd.Brakes!! Yeah, This machine stops on a dime with the 4 wheel disc system. Very pleased!

Report This Comment
Review by Steve , on Nov 01, 2010

Been looking at these recently. For those of you riding often, wondering if you can fit to average size adults and a toddler on the bench seat? Can it be modified for a middle seat belt easily?

Thanks!

Report This Comment
Review by Steve , on Nov 01, 2010

Been looking at these recently. For those of you riding often, wondering if you can fit to average size adults and a toddler on the bench seat? Can it be modified for a middle seat belt easily?

Thanks!

Report This Comment
Review by Dave in Texas in Stafford, Texas, on Oct 28, 2010
Rating
5.0 / 5.0

After spending weekend at ATV park riding with family, wife suggested I get a side-by-side so she could ride also. I got the Polaris because of being able to load in bed of truck (just!). However after taking it to deer lease, I am impressed with power and handling. Made trails thru woods with ease. At times the saw briar/overgrowth was so thick it would lift front wheels off ground. Gas it and plowed thru. Won't do that with an ATV without getting stitches from briars :) Love the maching.

Report This Comment
Review by Carolina Steve, on Oct 07, 2010
Rating
5.0 / 5.0

The 400 is a beast. I use it in the Carolina mountains and I am amazed at how well it will climb. The only issue I have is the shifting seems hard. Hopefully it will improve as time goes on. Other than that it is an awesome machine.

Report This Comment
Review by Showtime in Oakwood,Ohio, on Sep 09, 2010
Rating
4.5 / 5.0

just bought a 400 Ranger and wow... for being the smallest one you can buy I am super impressed. it dont have all the little fancy speed-o but has every gauge u need. PLENTY of power been climbing steep hills in 2 wheel haven't even needed the 4x4 yet... for the money you cannot beat it. only got 5 hrs on it so far in love with it... bench seat is not as good as higher in models but what you exepect for money.... will never own 4 wheeler again only a ranger

Report This Comment
Review by Showtime in Oakwood,Ohio, on Sep 09, 2010
Rating
4.5 / 5.0

just bought a 400 Ranger and wow... for being the smallest one you can buy I am super impressed. it dont have all the little fancy speed-o but has every gauge u need. PLENTY of power been climbing steep hills in 2 wheel haven't even needed the 4x4 yet... for the money you cannot beat it. only got 5 hrs on it so far in love with it... bench seat is not as good as higher in models but what you exepect for money.... will never own 4 wheeler again only a ranger

Report This Comment
Review by jokout in iowa, on Sep 08, 2010
Rating
5.0 / 5.0

The Ranger 400 has to be the surprise UTV of the year! Great machine, great price, and capabilities of the full size Ranger in a more nimble and fun package! Excellent trail machine!

The engine does vibrate a bit when new, but this has improved as the miles add up, and, I would have prefered bucket seats to the bench seat it comes with.

Report This Comment
Review by Jordan in Edmonton, on Jul 05, 2010
Rating
4.5 / 5.0

Love this machine. It does tend to vibrate a bit but not a deal breaker for me.Like the way it gets down the narrow trails with quads where the big boys either go round or cut down some trees.

Report This Comment
Review by Drozy in Charlotte, Michigan, on Jun 02, 2010
Rating
3.5 / 5.0

Would rate higher, but utv is very noisy. It has acess engine vibration, thus rattles and vibrates much to much. Especially the cargo bed, squeels, rattles..Have had it to fix at dealer 3 times...made a complaint to Polaris.waiting for tech people to come up with solutions.

Report This Comment
Review by cordell in grayson,ky, on Nov 21, 2009
Rating
4.0 / 5.0

Me and my dad just purchased a couple of these 400,s.We didnt want to spend the big money for the big bore machines,so we tried out the 450 rhino and the 400 polaris.We liked both machines but felt the polaris had the edge on comfort,power and ride.The polaris was alot more quieter in noise sound to.I dont think you can wrong buying the rhino we just felt the ranger was the better machine.Definately a 4 star machine.

Report This Comment

Disclaimer

Reviews are provided on an "as is" basis with no warranty and should be considered entertainment only. Reviews should not be used for any purpose whatsoever, including but not limited to, making decisions about any referenced vehicles, products, modifications or other information.